Musée national Eugène Delacroix

  • Museum
  • History
  • Famous people

The Eugène-Delacroix National Museum is housed in the last flat and studio where Eugène Delacroix (1798-1863) lived and created for many years and where he died in 1863. It is located in the heart of Paris, in the Saint-Germain-des-Prés district. As a museum-workshop, it pays tribute to one of the greatest artists of the 19th century while offering a unique perspective on his work.

The Musée national Eugène-Delacroix offers frequently renewed displays of its collection, accompanied by a rich and varied cultural programme: lectures, concerts, workshops, meetings with artists, etc. Each year, a temporary exhibition presents a new aspect of Delacroix's art or a contemporary view of his time. A real haven of peace for visitors to the museum, the garden allows visitors to admire the façade of the studio that Delacroix had built and whose décor he chose. In 2019, it welcomed nearly 75,000 visitors.

In Eugène Delacroix's last flat and studio, you can find emblematic works of the painter such as Madeleine in the Desert, which inspired Baudelaire, The Education of the Virgin, Romeo and Juliet or the fresco Bacchus and a Tiger. Lesser-known works can also be discovered, such as a painted study after one of Goya's Caprices, two medieval binding plates and an oriental jacket, so characteristic of the artist's creative work, or a model for the decor of the library of the National Assembly. Sketches and finished paintings, drawings made using different techniques, engravings... allow us to discover the different aspects of the artist's talent and to better understand his creative work. Delacroix's entourage is also evoked through portraits or copies of his major works, such as The Death of Sardanapalus or The Women of Algiers, painted by his friends or admirers such as Fantin-Latour.

Since 2004, the Musée National Eugène-Delacroix has been part of the public establishment of the Louvre Museum. It opened its doors to the public in 1932 thanks to the Société des Amis d'Eugène Delacroix, which brought together artists such as Maurice Denis and Paul Signac and transformed this place of memory into a museum.

Opening and closing times

From 01/01 to 31/12 between 9.30 am and 5.30 pm. Closed on Tuesday. Closed exceptionally on January 1st, May 1st and December 25th. Last admission to the museum at 5pm.

Nocturne every first Thursday of the month.

Booking is strongly recommended.

Rates

Adult: 7 € (Self-guided groups (with your own guide): entrance fee per visitor
- Groups with a museum guide: 110 € (+ entrance fee per visitor)
Booking required).

Free entry for children < 26 years, disabled people and accompanying persons.

Reception

Visits

Average length of visit

  • 90 minutes (individual)

Services and facilities

Facilities

  • Lift

Services

  • Wi-fi

Languages

Spoken languages

  • French

Visit languages

  • French

Languages of educational signs

  • French

Additional information

Mobile application: https://application.musee-delacroix.fr/
Daily guided tours of the museum by museum staff.
Walks in the neighbourhood, writing and drawing workshop, concert and conference. Full programme on the museum's website.

Accessibility

  • Accessible for wheelchairs with assistance
  • WC + grab handle + adequate space to move
  • Site, building partially accessible
  • Reception staff trained in the French Sign Language
  • Hearing disability

Access

Plan your route

Share